Commercial Property - newbie question

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by dboy_tomato, 28th Apr, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. dboy_tomato

dboy_tomato Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

After riding through the residential wave over the last couple of years, I am deciding on venture out on a CIP this year.

I made an offer for a retail shop in Ashfield (off-market) for $500k , 100sqm. It's not close to the main strip or the station but it's closer to the school side and further east. It's still ok.

The rental yield will be around 6%. but I am likely going to use for myself as a retail shop.

As a newbie I have the following questions

1) The historic price for a retail shop around this block is only $3600/sqm (using historic sales back in 2014) but I have made an offer close to $5000/sqm!

Am I paying too much?? but I cannot find anywhere else where a retail shop of 100sqm is < $500k in sydney metro areas.

I have made the offer and the vendor has accepted though no money or document has been signed. I said it was subject to due diligence and finance approval as well.

I know I can revert my offer on the bases of DD but I am still keen on the property but I don't want to make myself look insincere by changing my offer

2) Finance: My broker came back for this property the loan is maxed at 65% LVR, at 5.65% with 0.6% establishment fee + $1500 valuation fee. Does this sound right?

5.65% seems quite high to me or is it just the norm for CIP?

Any advice would help, as I am so not sure whether I am doing the right things.

Thank you!
    DB

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Direct comparison is not the methodology of choice for a CIP, you need to look at the capitalisation of income method.

Retail space in Ashfield (Liverpool Rd) runs over $500-650/m2

So 100m2 would lease for a minimum of $50k+gst

On a weak yield of 8% would be around $625k