Entertainment & Music The Musician's Thread

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by The Y-man, 14th Jul, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

For many, their IP's and PPOR's are the most expensive things they own, followed by their cars.

But for some, their musical instruments cost more than the house they live in, and the car is merely a method of getting the gear from one gig to another safely :D

Tell us your instrument of choice and your set up (or updates if you previously told us in a similar thread at Somersoft!)

I'm mainly a keyboardist, self taught (except for 6 months of lessons on a chord organ in my 3rd year at Primary School - but I try to get a sound out of everything I can get my hands on!!

My biggest music teacher was my Casiotone MT800 "follow the lights" unit back in the 80's. I then got my first real Synth, a Roland JX-3P. I traded up to a Juno 106 (although many would argue that's a trade across - the 3P had some awesome features), and also bought a Korg EX800 (rack module version of the Poly 800) and eventually an Ensoniq ESQ-1

Unfortunately everything bar the EX800 has gone the way of dead circuit boards etc....

My current set up:

Ironically back to my beginning - a Casiotone, albeit bigger and more expensive - Casio CTK-7000

Also have an Ibanez Axstar (with a broken rear pickup :oops: - must get around to repalcing/fixing!!) paired to a Roland Cube 15x along with some effects units (pedals, half racks) and an ancient Roland powered mixer.

I also recently purchased an Artist Acoustic Electric - great sound for a sub $200 plywood guitar!!

The Y-man

hammer and Gibson like this.
  2. Propagate

Propagate Well-Known Member