Shipping Container Discussions

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by QbiK Evolution, 19th Oct, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. QbiK Evolution

QbiK Evolution Well-Known Member

I thought i would start a thread here to have a healthy conversation about the use of shipping containers in property. I couldn't see anything similar on PC so i thought i would take it upon myself to get the ball rolling.

I think a disclaimer about myself should be put at the front of this thread for all to see. I'm a draftsman by trade and built my first container house by myself for myself. I loved building it and living in it so i have decided to try and start my own company. I'm still not 100% sure what this will look like at this stage. I'm not doing this as an advertisement, this conversation is as much for my benefit as others so i might come to know what the market is looking for and concerned about when it comes to living in containers.

With that out of the way i thought i would start with a rebuttal from my side of the fence to a domain article posted on PC about the negatives of container living. I wont rebut everything said but pick out a couple of interesting sentences that i myself do not agree with. It would be great for everyone to comment too and get a healthy conversation flowing. This would be invaluable to future posters who are looking into using shipping containers and asking lots of questions.

So here goes.

The article : http://www.domain.com.au/advice/the...tion4&utm_campaign=domainhomepage_latest_news

"Used shipping containers can have high levels of chemical residue – they are coated in lead-based paint to withstand ocean spray"