My First Post Here - Hello

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by kierank, 20th Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. kierank

kierank Well-Known Member

Not sure what to write to introduce myself but here goes:
    1. At the wrong end of my 50’s decade.
    2. In 1977, I left home with $50 in my wallet (21st birthday present from my parents) to start my first job in Melbourne, on a salary of $9,000.
    3. Currently ‘un-employed and un-employable’. I don’t like the R word (retired).
    4. Government ‘forces’ us to take 4% out of our smsf every year as we are in pension phase. This is more than enough for us to live on.
    5. Keep myself busy doing volunteer work and travel.
    6. I was a volunteer driver for the G20 Summit in Brisbane in November 2014, was Airport Team Leader for the Asian Cup in January 2015 and currently a volunteer driver for AngelFlights and Leukaemia Foundation.
    7. Undertake at least one decent overseas holiday every year:- in 2014, went to Canada and Alaska (including going above the Arctic Circle); in 2015, went to England (including Wimbledon and 2nd (at Lords) and 3rd Ashes Test) and Ireland. For 2016, going to Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia.
    8. Bought first property (2 bedroom unit) as a PPOR in 1979 in East St Kilda for $26,000 (would probably cost $550,000 to buy today). Borrowed $24,000 as a P&I loan at 3%pa interest (staff loan through work). Repayments were $26pw and I could rent out the second bedroom for $32pw. I was so naive and so scared about buying property, I got my ‘future’ father-in-law (who was into property) to fly down from Newcastle to help me with the purchase. Sold it for $39,000 in 1981 as I moved to Brisbane as I had changed jobs.