LIC & LIT Listed Investment Companies (LICs)

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by The Falcon, 21st Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Falcon

The Falcon Well-Known Member

Following on from Darren A’s request for a brief explanation of LIC’s I thought I would create a LIC specific thread. Just quickly I will cover off what a LIC is, then I hope the thread can evolve to LIC specific discussion.
    Please note; I am not a professional, just an interested amateur.

OK, to the question at hand……….what is a LIC? A bit of googling will give you a bunch of answers some more helpful to the uninitiated than others. So, I have come up with the below which I hope is helpful.

A LIC is a pooled investment vehicle, in the form of a company, the stock of which can be bought and sold on the ASX. The Company holds a basket of stocks, and will also have a varying amount of cash on hand. This is the company’s tangible assets. Its investment managers make assessments about which stock to add to the basket, and which to sell, when, how much cash to hold for future buying opportunities etc. In exchange for this service, the Company charges a management fee. Management fees of the largest, longest established LICs are extremely low, typically 0.20% per annum or lower.

LIC’s must report their Net Tangible Assets, and their top holdings each month. This allows a potential stock holder, to know exactly what the value per share is of the basket of stocks the company is holding, and which stocks the LIC is holding.
    http://www.afi.com.au/Last-12-months-ASX-Announcements.aspx