Leaving behind a CP...

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by Tony Dolphin, 25th Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Tony Dolphin

Tony Dolphin New Member

Hello everyone.
    I’m starting this thread to hopefully soak up some info and advice over time regarding purchasing a commercial property. I’m a newb to all this and anything I do know about CPs is from reading material online over the last year or two, particularly Somersoft and this here forum (thanks to all the contributors!).

My situation is slightly unique. I’m planning to sell up and move overseas. I don’t plan on taking out a substantial loan for the purchase, rather it’ll be my own funds from the sell off (possibly a ‘top up’ loan but nothing more). This is one of the reasons why I decided to go comm over res, as any potential vacancies common in CP shouldn’t be a major issue re repayments.

As an expat I have to pay a whopping 32.5% tax. Also, Vic recently introduced an ‘absentee owner surcharge’ for all non-residents (Aussie or not), which is an additional .5% land tax on your property site value + the original $725, making it well over 1/3 gone on tax. This too is another reason for not going res, as I’d hardly have anything left after rates, insurance and potential maintenance. As a result I don’t think it wise to go for anything <500k, which was my initial range, as it just doesn’t seem worthwhile. I’m thinking more around the 600k mark now.

My intention down the track is to have all other potential outgoings covered in the contract and I’d probably even contemplate the idea of offering a marginally lower rent for the first term to enforce this and to also try and get someone in without delay.