Help..beginner at work, need some help with thought processes

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by chowmein, 28th Oct, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. chowmein

chowmein Member

I stumbled across PC a few months ago, after it was recommended by another person and I have since been following avidly.

I would really appreciate some advice as I am a real novice. Pardon the silly questions,
    Here is my story:

we are in our mid 30s with 3 young kids. we have a PPOR valued at 750-800K which we owe 300K ( but have decent offset). we have 1IP that is positively geared and we are looking to expand our portfolio.

we gravitate towards more conservative investing given that we are still on 1+ income and there is some but limited fat in the budget.

My question is:
    we are considering taking equity out of the PPOR to invest and would like to get back on the property train. However, having done the sums, we are somewhat confused. Even if there is 4-5% CG and 5% yields, whereby the property is NG, wouldn;t we be better off paying off our PPOR before investing further? If not, it seems that we are just paying money to the bank (ie not paying more off our PPOR, but paying more to service the NG investment loan).

The only way i can think of negating this is to buy a neutrally geared property (being a villa/unit/townhouse) for the time being until we have paid off the PPOR.

Is this thinking correct? What are we missing?

any thoughts on this is much appreciated, thank you

2. Befuddled

Befuddled Well-Known Member

Welcome.

Assuming 5% yield, 105% borrowing for the next IP and 4.5% interest rates, you're looking at being out of pocket by around 0.5-1% without accounting for depreciation. Subtract that from the 4-5% CG and you would still come out ahead.